Close this search box.

Johnson Honored by Society for Range Management with Sustained Lifetime Achievement Award

SPARKS, NEVADA – Dr. Patricia Johnson received the Sustained Lifetime Achievement Award at the Society for Range Management’s 77th Annual Meeting in Sparks, Nevada last week.  The Sustained Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Society for Range Management to members for long-term contributions to the art and science of range management and to the Society for Range Management (SRM). 

Dr. Patricia Johnson had a long and distinguished career as a faculty member at South Dakota State University. She was one of the first five women in the world to achieve a Ph.D. in Range Science/Ecology and the second woman in the world hired into a Range Science faculty position. 

Over the course of her career, she has published 72 peer-reviewed papers, a book chapter, and 3 monitoring videos, made over 130 presentations (> 30 of which were invited) at local, national, and international scientific meetings, served on numerous committees for SRM, including the Board of Directors, and received the Fellows Award in Range Science. In addition, she has secured $9.92 million in research funds to support her research to advance the field of rangeland science. 

The ability to measure one’s legacy can be found in the impact they have had on other people’s lives. Over the course of her career, Pat Johnson has taught 14 graduate and undergraduate courses in range science and mentored 15 doctoral and master’s students while serving on over 40 students committees. One of the greatest joys in her careers is seeing the impacts her former students have had on rangeland management. This has been apparent in the overwhelming willingness of her peers and former students to write letters of support for her nomination.

For the tremendous contributions to the science and management of rangeland ecosystems she has made, it is with great honor the Society of Range Management recognized Dr. Patricia Johnson with the Sustained Lifetime Achievement Award.

Share this post