Committees - Rangeland Invasive Species - 2008 Minutes Page not found - Society For Range Management
Page not found - Society For Range Management
Rangeland Invasive Species Committee
Minutes from the 2008 RISC Meeting
Society for Range Management
Rangeland Invasive Species Committee (RISC)
Minutes from the 2007 RISC, Sunday, January 26, 2008
Chair: Jeremy James
The committee was called to order by Jeremy James at 1:04 p.m. and adjourned at 3:02 p.m. on Sunday, January 26, 2008 at the Galt House in Louisville, KY. Eighteen individuals attended all or part of the session. Items of business included the following:
  1. James provided some background on the committee, asked for additions to the agenda, and had attendees introduce themselves. James presented a brief review of the agenda items and a summary of 2007 business.
  2. RISC nominated Dr. Thomas Monaco as the chair-elect. Dr. Monaco will serve as chair for a two-year term following the 62nd annual meeting in Albuquerque, NM. Monaco also suggested tighter collaboration between chair and chair-elect to develop and maintain continuity.
  3. Two subcommittees were formed to develop symposia for the 62nd and 63rd annual SRM meeting. The committee jointly discussed potential symposia themes including: Reclamation of rangeland following resource development, interagency development of prevention practices, pre and post construction invasive species management, assessment and management of invasive species control at large spatial scales, how to gauge "success" of invasive species management programs. Monaco offered that the symposia be potentially structured by research scale (e.g. seed ecology to landscape level).
    1. Subcommittee for the 62nd annual meeting symposium includes Summer Schulz, Julie Allen, Byron Sleugh and Jeremy James. Proposals are due May 1.
    2. Chad Cummings will represent RISC in development of the symposium at the 63rd annual meeting held jointly with the national Weed Science Society of America (WSSA) working with Rita Beard.
  4. Rita Beard described the philosophy and the 63rd annual SRM meeting held jointly with WSSA. This includes a goal to consolidate dialogue and use the particular strengths of various societies to advance management and understanding of invasive plants. Several additional topics for the symposium were offered including risk management and early detection, economic assessment of weed impacts, linking use of agronomic tools and ecological theory to improve management of invasive plants and addressing the discord between education applied weed management and future agency work needs.
  5. Joel Brown offered suggestions about how to improve impact of RISC including continued development of web pages, developing special issues in Rangelands, development of regional work shops. Brown also gave an update of general SRM business including membership and finance.
    1. Jordge Lafantaise offered to lead development and monitoring of Web page
  6. Rita Beard motioned that RISC vote on a resolution asking for SRM to send a representative to the National Invasive Weed Awareness week with the intent that the representative be involved in meeting participation and development of position papers. This motion was approved by RISC unanimously. Rick Orr was present and notified of the vote results.
  7. Mechanisms to increase impact of RISC were discussed. Potential ideas include development of a subcommittee to explore and outline possibilities, co-sponsoring regional workshops, continued development of webpage and establishing a subcommittee structure with variable length appointments.
    1. Subcommittee structure so far includes:
      1. Symposia development
      2. Webpage development
      3. Outreach and impact
  8. Announcements included:
    1. National Invasive Weeds Awareness Week, Washington, D.C., February 24-27, 2008.
  1. Tom Monaco nominated as chair-elect
  2. RISC voted unanimously in support of a resolution asking that SRM send a representative to the National Invasive Weed Awareness week
  3. Summer Schulz, Julie Allen, Byron Sleugh, Chad Cummings and Jeremy James selected for symposia subcommittee
  4. Jordge Lafantaise selected for Webpage development
  5. Ed Vasquez selected to lead subcommittee on out reach and impact
Page not found - Society For Range Management